Board of Directors

Connecticut Humanities is grateful for the leadership from our volunteer board of directors committed to our vision and mission. Meet them below!

Board of Directors

*Indicates Gubernatorial Appointee

Executive Committee

Frank Mitchell, Ph.D.*

Vice Chair
Ruth G. Torres
Brown University Native American and Indigenous Studies Initiative

Rorie Rueckert

Melinda D. Cruanes, CPA
The Connecticut State Colleges & Universities

Members at Large

Sandy Grande, Ph.D.
UConn Professor
Political Science/Native American and Indigenous Studies

Jonathan Weiner, Esq.
Connecticut Supreme Court



Nicholas Bellantoni, Ph.D.
Emeritus Connecticut State Archaeologist

David A. Claiborn

David Davison
American Savings Foundation (retired)

Merve Emre*
Wesleyan University

Andrew Forsyth, Ph.D.*
Yale College

Akeia de Barros Gomes, Ph.D.
Mystic Seaport

Ramin Ganeshram
Westport Museum for History & Culture

Helen Higgins
Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation

Andy Horowitz, Ph.D.*
CT State Historian

Jacques Lamarre
Buzz Engine Marketing

Kariann McDougall, CPA
Marcum LLP

Jennifer McKenna, CPA
Pratt & Whitney

John Mihalec
IBM (retired)

Regen O’Malley, Esq.
Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani

Hanna Przada, AIA
LyonsPlain Architecture

Andrea Rapacz
Connecticut Historical Society

Deborah Schander*
Connecticut State Librarian

Leslie Hansen Scott

Carlos Torre, Ph.D.
Southern Connecticut State University/Latino and Native American Film Festival

David Westmoreland
Tuliptree Site Design, Inc.

Yi-Chun Tricia Lin, Ph.D.
Southern Connecticut State University/Women & Gender Studies Program

Sign Up For Email Updates